Last edited by OsirisDiscordia; 30 Nov 2015 at 19:51. Reason: trying to remove redundant thumbnails
Hi, just wondering, are the games themselves still installed?
I will have to check my programs in control panel, but the shortcuts on the desktop link to those blank files. They used to be directories, and when I attempt to launch the shortcut it gives a target not found error.
My thought is that the Nov upgrade did cause a very few programs to be uninstalled, although I've seen no ref. to games. If somehow your games were uninstalled, it might somehow explain your missing /0 byte folders.
Some people had problems with things going missing from their desktop, but it seems yours weren't even on C: - however, the shortcuts to them are. Maybe what you're seeing is somehow similar.
How were these folders created? In the above I'm assuming by the game itself.. but I could be quite wrong.
They were created by the games during installation while I was using Windows 8.1, and the shortcuts did work before the upgrade.
Oh, also, it happened in many other locations, including c:/program files (x86)/ and other typically used install directories
Hi, if you have lost files that are unique and of significance, and have no backup, your only option is data recovery software.
This text covers the situation- you may well be familiar with the principle.
"You can recover lost files and personal data after Windows installation, or any other event provided they have not been overwritten. This is because that files are not really deleted - the file table is modified and the files space is marked as free.
You should stop using the computer once you realize that files are deleted. Do not install or uninstall any programs, do not open or close any programs, this will prevent new data being written to the hard disk, and hence prevent file overwriting, and increase the chance of data recovery.
The best way to recover lost photos, videos, documents and other files is to use data recovery software. The data recovery software will help you analysis the Windows computer hard drive and retrieve lost files.'
The difficulty you now face is whether the files were deleted before part of the Windows upgrade took place. That is, if the clusters were released, they became available to be overwritten.
As to why some people have experienced files being lost as part of the upgrade- I have absolutely no idea. Clearly that's serious, but demonstrates just how essential disk imaging before any significant change is (and it should be used regularly). I prefer Aomei Backupper (free is ok) - many here prefer Macrium Reflect free- having looked at it it's a very professional piece of software, with a couple of features removed in the free version. I find Aomei Backupper simpler.
So, lesson learnt, you now need to think what of significance you may have lost.
Recovery? Recuva (free) is recommended- you need software you can ideally run from a USB or bootable disk (i.e. don't install anything) which will scan your disk, including a deep scan, list what's found, identify what is recoverable and what is corrupted.
There are a good many commercial programs as well- often these are offered as giveaways.
E.g. Minitool Power Data recovery
You should concentrate on data (files, photos, music....), not installed programs- programs you can reinstall later.
Conversely, if you have lost little personal data, you might consider reverting to the previous version-
I assume TH2 can be removed in the same way as reverting from, say, Win 10 to Win 8.1 if you had Win 10 installed and received the November upgrade.
Or if you upgraded from 8.1 to Win 10 after the Nov. upgrade, once you've recovered what you can, you might consider reverting to 8.1, or just reinstalling missing programs - unless there's some deeper corruption..
I think the problem is related to a similar issue I experienced in Linux with improperly configured symbolic links. I know the data is still there, it's still taking space on the hard drive, but the OS has failed to recognize them for what they are. I'll try that free recovery program you mentioned and let you know what happens, but if it doesn't affect linking, I'm not sure how well it will do. I don't think they have been deleted, or overwritten, but instead just linked incorrectly.
Fortunately my data like music and photos are fine, only large games and a few installed programs were affected by the upgrade. I had managed to restore, but not access a couple of folders and delete them while messing around with advanced security permissions, but I can't remember what I did or how and haven't been able to replicate the process. Mainly I want to be able to delete them to free the space up and reinstall them.
Good- Doesn't sound so disastrous.. just inconvenient.